This is me Nick Garrett

sample-3.png

… from the bush to the city to the mountain Qigong: Apennines Italy

March 2010

about me

Some of you may know that I have practiced Tai Chi since I was 15… a very long time!!!  :(((
I started off making a meditation room in the loft of my home when I was 15.
Up there I would sit in lotus and meditate.. and practice my kung fu.
In those early youthful days how was I to know that this practice would fortify me, never desert me, save my life on several occasions and those of ones I love.  So it really can and will make a remarkable difference for you and those around you.
More of that later…
My practice continued and by the late 1990’s my school and learning/teaching practice in China, Thailand, UK and Perth Australia had become something popular and incredibly satisfying for all.
It really is something very special this form of gentle meditative, non stress exercise… discovering at last your own chi or natural inner energy/power… an intimate connection to your self and your inner self.
Why stress!?… many people look at me and wonder why or how I stay so calm under pressure… this type of practice definately helps.
My teaching of Chi Gung has always centred on breath control and visualisation along with perfecting the essential balance movements that we need in order to stay strong and healthy now and in the future.
Often my lessons will be teaching how not to move: how to avoid incorrect body posture, shifting of weight and day to day healthy tips.  How to step more securely, become more responsive and use double weight positions… sounds complex but is absolutely the most obvious simple thing when I show you!
You will learn how to avoid injury and evade accidents.  Not bad eh!!
But how can we learn this and use it?
by gentle repetition which makes it natural or second nature.
Recently
I made a move into the mountains and discovered the power of sharing purity, nature, love and friendships. I want to share with you the gifts that live inside your every breath, step and thought… you do realise you are incredible don’t you!?
I realise you are… and that we can learn about our nature from nature and the mountains.
Today
I am starting my new relaxation classes called Chi Gung proActive meditation in Piacenza in March 2011.  Why?  Because it is a gift of life that I have practiced for a very long time and now must share again (since 2003 I have not taught this).
Now I miss it once again…
This practice creates stability and power in the mind, body and spirit.
Firstly we will learn:
Breath meditation
(Smiling from the heart)
8 movement Tai Chi Gung form
Visualisation – the power of…
Flexibility and strength
This forms the first 3-6 months of initial practice.
It is perfect for the modern people like us, living in a hectic world.
Please email me for more information if you need and the first lesson will be 30 minutes free introduction – dates to be confirmed please invite friends and print post this poster in yr local school or suitable place etc etc.
Nick Garrett

Briefly:  Dynamic breath Qigong and Brocades… share this

World Tai Chi & Qigong Day event in Rio de Jan...
Image via Wikipedia

Dynamic qigong can be easily recognized as a series of carefully-choreographed movements or gestures that are designed to promote and manipulate the flow of qi within the practitioner’s body. Tai Chi Ch’uan, a Chinese soft martial art, is one well-known representation of dynamic qigong set to flowing movements. To an external observer, the series of movements are similar to gentle warm ups. To the qigong practitioner, the practice requires a unity of mind, body and spirit with the aim of promoting and controlling the flow of qi via breath and position.

ProActive utilise this method in part or whole.

Static qigong – Standing on post

Static qigong is performed by holding a certain posture, position or stance for a period of time. In some cases, static qigong bears some similarities to the practice of Yoga and its continuation in the Buddhist tradition. Yiquan, a Chinese martial art derived from xingyiquan, is a strong proponent of stance training. Eight pieces of brocade (Baduanjin qigong), a well known set of health exercises, is also based on a series of postures. To the external observer, the practitioner appears to be fixed in space. To the qigong practitioner, the physical and mental effort required to keep the posture results in the appropriate manipulation of qi and generation of internal health promoting power.

ProActive utilise this method.

Meditative qigong

Qigong

Most qigong training will involve some form of meditation. Meditation is a popular method of mind body training and can be found in many different cultures. The details of qigong practice will differ depending on the origins of the meditation tradition. In Confucius scholar tradition, the meditation is focused on humanity and virtue with the aim of self-enlightenment. In one of the Buddhist methods, the aim is perhaps to still the mind, either through a focus outward such as a place, inwards such as the breath, a mantra, a koan, emptiness or the idea of the eternal as represented by a Buddha. In Daoist and TCM tradition, meditative qigong seeks to lead qi through the proper meridian pathways with the aim of completing a smooth continuous flow of qi through the practitioner.

ProActive utilise this method.

Chi Gung and Tai Chi Effects on the Nervous System

Dr. Yan Xin on Scientific Qigong Research

Female Hormonal Health

Chinese Medicine and Cancer

Analysis: Electromagnetic Waves of Chi (Qi)

Anti-Aging Benefits of Qigong (Clinical studies)

1 thought on “This is me Nick Garrett

Leave a comment

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close